Alyssa Bustamante: Teen Murder

Alyssa Bustamante, 18 years old has just been convicted of second-degree murder. Why? She killed a nine year old little girl. Dug a grave for the little girl a week before she killed her and wrote about the experience in her journal. I shake my head at this young woman in my generation. Quote taken straight off of yahoo, “I don’t know how to feel atm. It was ahmazing. As soon as you get over the ‘ohmygawd I can’t do this’ feeling, it’s pretty enjoyable. I’m kinda nervous and shaky though right now. Kay, I gotta go to church now…lol.(Lieb) ” Her thinking makes me ponder a little while longer, before I finish the article I read about her on Yahoo. I focus on the lol part of her journal. Is it funny because it’s not? Is it funny she killed a presumed innocent little nine year old girl? Or is it funny because she is truly in a space of oblivion? I zoom in on every word. Hoping that maybe I can just get a gist of how she is justifying the lol. Beyond me. What is even worse for me, is the fact her little sister was used as a pawn in the situation. I can only imagine how this young girl is feeling. I should take that back and say I can’t imagine how that young girl, Alyssa’s sister is feeling about the play date her friend died on.

Is she overwhelmed? Is she present?

Alyssa’s defense: Troubled childhood. Attempted suicide during eighth grade year. Taking Prozac.

Alyssa’s Sentence: At least 30 consecutive years.

Alyssa’s views: That little girls parents…..

Alyssa’s reflection:”I really am extremely, very sorry for everything. I know words,” she said, pausing to take a deep breath and struggling to compose herself, “can never be enough, and they can never adequately describe how horribly I feel for all of this (Lieb).”

Source: Lieb, David A.. “Mo. teen gets life with possible parole in killing.” Yahoo News. Associated Press, 08/02/2012. Web. 8 Feb 2012. <http://news.yahoo.com&gt;.

One thought on “Alyssa Bustamante: Teen Murder

Leave a Reply

